Reliability Standards
​​​​​​​​​​​Reliability standards are enforceable in all interconnected jurisdictions in North America: the continental United States; the Canadian provinces of Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Ontario, Quebec, and Saskatchewan; and the Mexican state of Baja California Norte. Following adoption of a standard by the NERC Board of Trustees, NERC files the standard with the appropriate authority in each jurisdiction. In the United States, NERC petitions the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) for approval of standards. Please see the provincial summaries for an overview of the processes for making standards enforceable in Canadian jurisdictions.
Please select a jurisdiction from the table on the right for information on Reliability Standards and their status in that jurisdiction. 
expand Standard Family : (BAL) Resource and Demand Balancing ‎(43)
expand Standard Family : (CIP) Critical Infrastructure Protection ‎(112)
expand Standard Family : (COM) Communications ‎(12)
expand Standard Family : (EOP) Emergency Preparedness and Operations ‎(40)
expand Standard Family : (FAC) Facilities Design, Connections, and Maintenance ‎(40)
expand Standard Family : (INT) Interchange Scheduling and Coordination ‎(35)
expand Standard Family : (IRO) Interconnection Reliability Operations and Coordination ‎(62)
expand Standard Family : (MOD) Modeling, Data, and Analysis ‎(55)
expand Standard Family : (NUC) Nuclear ‎(6)
expand Standard Family : (PER) Personnel Performance, Training, and Qualifications ‎(13)
expand Standard Family : (PRC) Protection and Control ‎(102)
expand Standard Family : (TOP) Transmission Operations ‎(47)
expand Standard Family : (TPL) Transmission Planning ‎(35)
expand Standard Family : (VAR) Voltage and Reactive ‎(27)