

Meeting Notes Project 2022-03 Energy Assurance with Energy-Constrained Resources

February 26, 2024 | 1:00 - 3:00 p.m. Eastern

WebEx

Administrative

1. Introductions

The meeting was brought to order by the Chair, David Mulcahy at 1:03 a.m. Eastern. The Chair provided the Drafting Team (DT) with opening remarks and welcomed members and guests.

2. Determination of Quorum

The rule for NERC DT states that a quorum requires two-thirds of the voting members of the DT. Quorum was achieved as ten of the thirteen members were present. See Attachment 1 for those in attendance.

3. NERC Antitrust Compliance Guidelines and Public Announcement

NERC Antitrust Compliance Guidelines and public announcement were reviewed by Dominique Love. There were no questions raised.



Agenda

1. Review of Meeting Notes from Previous Meetings N/A

2. Discussion

- a. There Co-chair Ruth Kloecker provided synopsis of her recommendations for to design the ERA. Discussions around deliverability and performing analysis based on critical hours were discussed and agreed upon by the SDT.
- b. SDT Mark Kuras provided synopsis of his recommendations for performing the ERA it was noted that some of the recommendations derived from BAL-505-RF standard. There were discussions around loss of load probability calculations may not be the best approach along with performing an ERA for the 6-10 year may still be valuable but the period may call for different expectations for mitigating actions.
- c. For the two sections explained, there are more detailed overview conclusions in the outline document.

3. Next Steps

a. The DT will continue conversations based on the outline to start standards drafting standard language for the planning ERA.

4. Adjourn

The meeting adjourned at 3:00 p.m. Eastern by consent.



Name	Company	Member/ Observer	Attendance (Y/N)
David Mulcahy	Illuminate Power Analytics	Member	Y
Ruth Kloecker	ITC	Member	Y
Mike Knowland	New England ISO	Member	У
Julie Jin	ERCOT	Member	N
John Stevenson	New York ISO	Member	Y
John Brewer	US Dept of Energy	Member	Y
Layne Brown	WECC	Member	N
Mark Kuras	PJM	Member	Y
Philip Wiginton	TVA	Member	Y
Derek Hawkins	SPP	Member	Y
Sean Boyle	Constellation Energy	Member	N
Brent Duncan	Southern Company Services	Member	Y
Clyde Loutan	CAISO	Member	Y
Dominique Love	NERC	Developer	Υ
Elsa Prince	NERC	Observer	Y
Kiel Lyons	NERC	Observer	Y
Alain Rigaud	NERC	Observer	N
Shamai Elstein	NERC	Observer	N
Terri Pyle	OGE	Observer	Y
Joseph Gatten	Xcel Energy	Observer	Y